Summary of results is available in the table below:

Results in Brief

Labour’s share of the vote fell to 33.2%, from 39.6% in 2011, but it remained the largest party in the National Assembly. Plaid Cymru have overtook the Conservatives as second largest party with 20.7%, up from 18.6%. The Conservatives polled 20.0%, 3.8% points less than in 2011. The UK Independence Party’s share has risen by 10.4% points to 12.7%, compared to 2.3% in 2011. The Liberal Democrat’ share fell to 7.1% from 9.3%, and the Green Party polled 2.7%, up from 1.8%.

Average turnout across all the constituencies and regions was 45.4%, up by 4.0% points from 2011. The highest turnout was in Cardiff North (56.8%) and Brecon & Radnorshire (56.5). The lowest turnout was in Alyn & Deeside where 34.6% voted.

Following the elections, the Assembly comprises 35 men and 25 women. The overall women representation have increased by one, compared to 2011. It is three fewer than in 2007 and five fewer than in the 2003, when there was an equal number of men and women elected.

There are currently two known ethnic minority Assembly Members. Mohammad Asghar was first elected for Plaid Cymru in 2007 and then for the Conservatives in 2011 and in 2016; Vaughan Gething was elected for Labour in 2011 and re-elected in 2016.

Related posts