Documents to download

Elections for the London Mayor and London Assembly were held on 5 May 2016:

  • The Labour Party candidate Sadiq Khan was elected as Mayor of London. Khan won 1,148,716 first preference votes (44.2%), compared to 909,755 for Conservative Party candidate Zac Goldsmith (35.0%). The total number of votes cast for Khan rose to 1,310,143 after second preference votes were redistributed, ahead of Goldsmith, with 994,614 votes.
  • Khan won the highest number and share of first preference votes since mayoral elections begun in 2000.
  • The Green Party’s candidate for Mayor, Sian Berry, came third with 150,673 first preference votes. Caroline Pidgeon of the Liberal Democrats finished fourth with 120,005 first preference votes.
  • Labour won 12 of the 25 seats in the London Assembly elections, the same number as in 2012, and remain the largest party in the Assembly. They won 43.5% of the Assembly constituency votes, a 1.3 percentage point increase on 2012. By comparison, Labour’s vote share in the mayoral election increased by 3.9 percentage point.

2016 London Assembly elections: elected Members

  • Turnout was 45.2% in the mayoral election, up from 37.4% in 2012. Turnout was 45.6% in the Assembly London-wide election, up from 37.5% in 2012.
  • Elections were also held on the same day for the Welsh Assembly, Scottish Parliament, and Northern Ireland Assembly, local councils and mayors in some English local authorities, and Police and Crime Commissioners in England and Wales.

Documents to download

Related posts