Documents to download

The general election timetable for 2017, below, is derived from the electoral timetable published by the Electoral Commission.[1]  

On 19 April 2017, the House of Commons agreed that there should be an early parliamentary general election.[2]  Following that decision, the Electoral Commission published a statement on the UK Parliamentary General Election, which included some information on key dates in the 2017 general election timetable.[3]

Election timetables for UK general (and by-elections) are laid down in the Parliamentary Elections Rules in Schedule 1 of the Representation of the People Act 1983, as subsequently amended, most recently in 2013.  Further background information on election timetables is available in the Library briefing paper, Election timetables (RP 15/11, 3 March 2015).

The timetable for the local government elections taking place on 4 May 2017 is also available on the Electoral Commission’s website:

June 2017 election timetable


[1]     Electoral Commission, UK Parliamentary general election in Great Britain; the Commission publishes separate guidance for Northern Ireland, see: UK Parliamentary general election in Northern Ireland (2017)

[2]     HC Deb 19 April 2017 cc681-712

[3]     Electoral Commission, Electoral Commission statement on the UK Parliamentary General Election scheduled for 8 June, 19 April 2017

Documents to download

Related posts