Documents to download

Police services in the UK are organised around two legal entities: the ‘Office of Constable’ and the police force.

Police officers (no matter their rank) each individually hold the Office of Constable. The Office of Constable grants them powers to detect, prevent and investigate crime.

Every police officer is a member of a police force. The police force organises and coordinates their crime fighting. As members of police forces, officers (and other police personnel) are under the “direction and control” of their chief officer. Chief officers are ultimately responsible for the operation of their force.

There are 48 civilian police forces in the UK: 43 territorial police forces in England and Wales, a national police force in both Scotland and Northern Ireland and three specialist police forces (the British Transport Police, the Civil Nuclear Constabulary and the Ministry of Defence Police).

Policing is (by and large) a devolved matter in Scotland and Northern Ireland. The Scottish Government and the Northern Ireland Executive are responsible for deciding how most police services are organised and managed in their countries. Policing culture is very similar throughout the UK and Police Scotland and the Police Service Northern Ireland share many of the characteristics of English and Welsh forces.

The term British model of policing is sometimes used to describe policing culture in the UK. There is no formal definition of the British model, but it is typically understood though three interlinked concepts: The Office of Constable, operational independence and policing by consent.

Force performance

Data from the Crime Survey for England and Wales (CSEW) suggests that around 55% of people think their police force is doing a “good” or “excellent” job. This figure is often known as the confidence level. The confidence level has fallen over the last two years (from around 62% in 2017/18 to 55% in 2019/20).

Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Constabulary and Fire & Rescue Services maintains an online dashboard displaying each force’s score against each of their three assessment pillars (effectiveness, efficiency and legitimacy). Forces receive one of four ‘judgements’ for each pillar: outstanding, good, requires improvement and inadequate. HMICFRS also provide a detail written assessment of each force which can be found by navigating through its online dashboard.

HMICFRS tends to judge forces better on effectiveness and legitimacy, giving slightly lower scores on efficiency. Overall, most forces are judged to be performing well by the inspectorate across all three measures. However, there is a growing divergence between the performance of forces. The inspectorate says this is the result of some forces rising to the twin challenges of rising demand and falling resources better than others.

The Government is began measuring ‘National Crime and Policing Measures’ (data points associated with certain crime types) in the summer of 2021. It is expecting “significant” national improvements against these measures within three years.

Documents to download

Related posts

  • Police service strength

    This briefing paper explore police service strength data from the Home Office, Scottish Government, and Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI). Each country receives individual analysis utilising the available data from each police force area and international comparisons where available.

    Police service strength