Documents to download

The Committee on Standards considers matters relating to the conduct of MPs. It is a committee of the House of Commons and is appointed in accordance with Standing Order No 149.

The Committee’s membership includes an equal number of MPs and lay members.

Lay members were first appointed to the Committee in 2012, following a recommendation from the independent Committee on Standards in Public Life, in its 2009 report on the expenses and allowances of MPs.

Initially three lay members were appointed to the Committee but in 2015, the House agreed that the Committee should have 14 members, with an equal number of MP and lay members. There is currently one vacancy among the lay members on the Committee.

A motion to appoint a lay member to the Committee on Standards is scheduled to be considered on Wednesday 22 June 2022, in the Chamber. The appointment of lay members to the Committee on Standards is governed by Standing Order No 149A (PDF). Debate on such a motion may last for up to one hour.

The motion provides that “Victoria Smith be appointed as lay member of the Committee on Standards for a period of six years, with immediate effect”.

It follows a report (PDF), published on 15 June 2022, from the House of Commons Commission that recommended that Victoria Smith be appointed to the Committee for six years.

Documents to download

Related posts