Documents to download

This briefing summarises the UK’s progress in its negotiations for free trade agreements (FTAs). It looks at negotiations which have already started and countries where the UK Government is making preparations before negotiations start. It does not go into detail on the content of the negotiations. It focusses on ‘new’ trade agreements – not those which rolled over previous EU agreements.


Signed agreements

The UK has signed three new trade agreements since leaving the EU. The agreement with Australia was signed in December 2021 and that with New Zealand in February 2022. These agreements are not yet in force.

The digital trade agreement with Singapore was signed in February 2022 and entered into force on 14 June 2022.

An Agreement in Principle for a digital trade agreement with Ukraine was announced on 30 November 2022.

Current free trade agreement negotiations

The UK Government has started negotiations for a trade agreement with the countries listed below.

Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP): the CPTPP is a trade agreement between 11 countries: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. The UK applied to join in February 2021. Negotiations started in September 2021.

US: There is no current trade agreement between the UK and the US. Negotiations started in May 2020. An agreement is not expected soon.

India: There is no current trade agreement between the UK and India. Negotiations started on 17 January 2022. The Government had hoped that these negotiations would be completed by October 2022 but this deadline has been missed.

Canada: there is an existing trade agreement with Canada which largely replicates that which Canada has with the EU. Negotiations for a new UK-Canada trade agreement were launched in March 2022.

Mexico: Negotiations were launched in May 2022 to update the existing UK-Mexico trade agreement. This largely replicates the agreement Mexico has with the EU.

Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC): The GCC represents six states (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE). The UK currently does not have a free trade agreement with any of these countries. Negotiations started in June 2022.

Israel: Negotiations were launched on 20 July 2022 to update the existing UK-Israel agreement which largely replicates the agreement Israel has with the EU.

Where the UK is preparing for free trade agreement negotiations

In April 2022, the Government launched a consultation on a new trade agreement with Switzerland, to update the existing FTA which largely replicates the EU-Switzerland agreement. The consultation closes on 22 June 2022.

In December 2022, a consultation on an enhanced FTA with South Korea was launched. This aims to upgrade the existing UK-South Korea agreement which replicates the EU’s agreement with South Korea. The consultation runs until 2 February 2023.


Documents to download

Related posts