Documents to download

Several political parties contested the election but, as with previous elections, only the the Liberal-National coalition and the Labor Party were likely to form a government.

The six-week election campaign focused on the main concerns of voters: the economy and cost of living, climate change, and relations with China.

House of Represenatives election results

The Australian Electoral Commission announced the results of the election on the evening of the poll closing: after almost a decade in power, the Liberal-National coalition were defeated and the Labor party secured an overall majority of seats in the House of Representatives, with Anthony Albanese becoming Prime Minister.

With 10 independents elected, four Green MPs and two members elected from minor parties, the 47th parliament will have a record of 16 crossbenchers.

Political party No. of valid votes % of valid votes Seats
Australian Labor Party 4,775,904 32.58 77
Liberal/National Coalition 5,233,368 35.70 58
Independent 777,278 5.30 10
The Greens 1,796,505 12.25 4
Katter’s Australian Party 55,858 0.38 1
Centre Alliance 36,519 0.25


Pauline Hanson’s One Nation

727,724 4.96 0
United Australia Party 604,755 4.13 0
Other 652,713 4.45


TOTAL 14,660,624 100.00 151

In this 2022 federal election 17,228,900 Australian citizens registered to vote and turnout was 89.71%.

Background to the Australian election

Legislative power in Australia is vested in the Federal Parliament, consisting of HM The Queen (represented by the Governor-General), the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Australia uses a preferential voting system for its elections. Voters must mark a preference for every candidate contesting the House of Representatives and a preference for a designated number of candidates for the Senate. This provides for multiple counts of ballot papers to occur, with votes transferred between candidates after each round – according to the preferences marked by voters – until a candidate acquires an absolute majority of the total votes.

Only Australian citizens over the age of 18 are eligible to vote in federal elections. Voting is compulsory and it is a criminal offence for an Australian not to be registered on the Electoral Roll.

Failing to vote immediately prompts a $20 fine from the Australian Electoral Commission. Failure to pay the fine would lead to the Australian citizen appearing in court, with the penalty increasing to $222 and any additional court fees incurred.

Documents to download

Related posts