Documents to download

MPs standing down at the next general election

The first tab in this spreadsheet (MPs standing down) lists MPs who have announced their intention to stand down from the House of Commons at the next general election and MPs who have announced that they will not be seeking re-election in their current seat.

Members subsequently selected for another seat, or who have since stood down, are moved from the first tab to the second tab (Edits to MPs standing down).

We aim to update this list weekly. Please email with a source if you have any additions or corrections. 

When will the next general election be?

The last possible day for a general election is Tuesday 28 January 2025. Under the provisions of the Dissolution and Calling of Parliament Act 2022, the current Parliament would dissolve on 17 December 2024, unless dissolved earlier.

The Library briefing General election timetable 2019 shows the timetable with key dates for the 2019 general election. 

How many MPs stood down at the 2019 general election?

74 MPs did not stand for re-election at the 2019 General Election. The number standing down was high compared with 2017 (an election which like 2019 followed a “short” Parliament) but lower than at any other election since 1979. An average of 87 MPs stood down from the House of Commons at general elections between 1979 and 2010. These figures include MPs that were not selected by their party to stand at the next election. See Library briefing General Election 2019: full results and analysis for the number of MPs that stood down from the House of Commons at general elections between 1979 and 2019, pages 42-43.

Parliament: facts and figures

This series of publications contains data on various subjects relating to Parliament and Government. Topics include legislation, MPs, select committees, debates, divisions and parliamentary procedure.

Documents to download

Related posts