The East Midlands region covers the following Sustainability and Transformation Partnerships (STPs)/Integrated Care Systems (ICSs):

  • Derbyshire STP
  • Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland STP
  • Lincolnshire STP
  • Northamptonshire STP
  • Nottinghamshire ICS

NHS Sustainability and Transformation Partnerships (STPs) were established in 2016 to bring local health and care leaders together to plan around the long-term needs of local communities. STPs are made up of NHS commissioning organisations (clinical commissioning groups – CCGs), and NHS providers, including NHS trusts and foundation trusts and primary care services, as well as local authorities and others. Integrated Care Systems (ICSs) are developing from STPs, as a new type of even closer collaboration. In an ICS, NHS organisations, in partnership with local councils and others, take collective responsibility for managing resources, delivering NHS standards, and improving the health of the population they serve. The plan is for all STP areas to eventually develop into an ICS by April 2021.

Links to the websites of each STP/ICS in the East Midlands region, with additional links to each areas’ strategic plan and constituent NHS organisations, can be found below:

There are 15 NHS trusts/foundations trusts in the region. A number of NHS organisations also operate across the whole of the East Midlands region, including:

Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland STP website

Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Sustainability and Transformation Plan

NHS organisations that form Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland STP:

Lincolnshire STP website

Lincolnshire Sustainability and Transformation Plan

NHS organisations that form Lincolnshire STP:


Northamptonshire STP (now known as Northamptonshire Health and Care Partnership) website

Northamptonshire Sustainability and Transformation Plan overview

NHS organisations that form Northamptonshire Health and Care Partnership:


Derbyshire STP website

Derbyshire Sustainability and Transformation Plan

Organisations that form Derbyshire STP:

Nottingham and Nottinghamshire ICS website

Nottingham and Nottinghamshire Sustainability and Transformation Plan

NHS organisations that form Nottingham and Nottinghamshire STP:

Care Quality Commission (CQC) reports on health and care services in the East Midlands region can be found on the CQC website.

MPs and their staff who would like statistics relating to local health services can contact the Library specialist Carl Baker (x4310).

Related posts