Documents to download

This paper summarises the results of the local and mayoral elections held on 6 May 2010. Elections were held in all 32 London boroughs, 36 metropolitan boroughs, 20 unitary authorities, and 76 shire districts. Labour had a net gain of 17 councils, the Conservatives a net loss of seven and the Liberal Democrats a net loss of one. Four incumbent mayors were re-elected: in the London Boroughs of Hackney, Lewisham and Newham (all Labour), and in Watford (Liberal Democrat). The UK General Election was held on the same day.

Documents to download

Related posts

  • Pre-election period of sensitivity

    Government and local authority resources cannot be used for party political campaigning at any time. In the run up to an election, the pre-election period of sensitivity, particular care is taken. Government departments and councils will normally observe discretion about making new announcements or decisions that could influence voters.

    Pre-election period of sensitivity