Documents to download

From 1 November 2005, Members who serve on the Panel of Chairs who are not chairs of select committees have received additional salaries, depending on their length of service on the Panel.

This note outlines the background to proposals for introducing salaries for the chairs of standing committees (now public bill and general committees), which were agreed by the House on 13 July 2005.

Responsibility for paying Members’ salaries transferred to the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA) in May 2010; and provisions in the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010 giving it responsibility for determining Members’ salaries came into force in May 2011. IPSA issued its first determination in January 2013, setting salaries for April 2013 and April 2014. It issued a further determination in December 2013, setting the salaries of committee chairs from April 2015.

On 19 March 2013, the House agreed a resolution setting out which chairs were entitled to an additional salary.

The additional salary rates for members of the Panel of Chairs, for 2013/14 to 2015/16, determined by IPSA, are reported.

Documents to download

Related posts