Documents to download

Bosnia’s complex political structures were set up by the Dayton Peace Agreement that ended the war of 1992-95.

Dayton retained Bosnia’s international boundaries but created two entities within it: the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, principally comprising the Bosniak (Muslim) and Croat-majority areas, and Republika Srpska, principally comprising the Serb-majority area. Each entity has its own president, government, parliament, police and other bodies.

But there are also central institutions – a parliament, government and a three-member rotating presidency – each of which is designed to prevent the majority from imposing decisions on other groups.

Above these entity and central institutions are the multi-national Peace Implementation Council and the UN-mandated High Representative whose extensive powers include the ability to dismiss elected officials and to impose or revoke legislation.

Documents to download

Related posts