Documents to download

The Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2011 made provision for the number of constituencies to be reduced to 600.

The four Parliamentary Boundary Commissions announced the commencement of the sixth general review of Parliamentary constituencies (also known as the 2013 review) on 4 March 2011. The Boundary Commission for Wales announced on the same day that Wales would have 30 constituencies, a reduction of 10. No constituencies are exempt from the new requirement for constituencies to be within 5% of the electoral quota.

The Boundary Commission for Wales published its initial proposals on 11 January 2012. Revised proposals were published on 24 October 2012.

Following the Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013 receiving Royal Assent on 31 January 2013, the date of the next boundary review has been postponed until 2018. The Boundary Commission for Wales has therefore ceased working on the 2013 Review.

This Note gives details of the 2013 review in Wales, its progress and the consultation process. It should be read in conjunction with Library Standard Note 6095, Initial proposals for new constituency boundaries: Wales which looks at the extent to which the proposed constituencies can be identified with existing seats and which existing constituencies will be most affected by the proposals.

Documents to download

Related posts

  • This paper discusses the way that Parliament scrutinises the Government's proposals for taxation, set out in the annual Budget statement. It looks at how this procedure may be affected by the timing of a General Election, and the decision in 2017 to move the Budget from the Spring to the Autumn. It also provides some suggestions for further reading.

  • The august presidential election in Belarus led to the biggest demonstrations since the country's independence. The outcome is still not clear.

  • The Coronavirus Act,which received Royal Assent on 25 March 2020, made emergency provisions in relation to the coronavirus. This briefing examines the provisions related to postponing local elections due in May 2020 until May 2021.