Documents to download

Members of the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA) are appointed in accordance with the Parliamentary Standards Act 2009. It provides for IPSA to have a chair and four other members (including a former MP, an auditor and a former holder of high judicial office). All are appointed by His Majesty on an address of the House of Commons. They are selected by the Speaker of the House of Commons, with the agreement of the Speaker’s Committee on the IPSA, following a fair and open competition.

On 17 July 2023, the House of Commons agreed that Dame Laura Cox should be appointed to IPSA, from 1 August 2023, until 31 July 2028.

On 20 June 2023, the Speaker’s Committee on IPSA issued a report recommending that Dame Laura Cox be appointed to the IPSA Board for five years

The terms and qualifications of the members of the IPSA Board are:

  • Richard Lloyd, Chair. He was appointed to the Board from 1 December 2018, for five years. He became interim Chair, on 11 October 2019, following the resignation of Ruth Evans. He remained interim Chair until his appointment as Chair, for five years, from 1 September 2021.
  • William Lifford, auditor member, from 11 January 2018 for five years, and from 11 January 2023 to 10 January 2026 .
  • Helen Jones, former Member of Parliament, from 1 January 2020-31 December 2025.
  • Lea Paterson, from 14 March 2022, for five years.
  • Dame Laura Cox, former holder of high judicial office, from 1 August 2023-31 July 2028.

Documents to download

Related posts