Documents to download

This list notes ministerial office holders in the 2010 Coalition Government.

Ministers’ dates of office

Until the 2015 General Election, all Minsters carried on in their posts. After the Conservative party won a majority in the 2015 General Election, the Prime Minister announced senior government Cabinet appointments on 8 May 2015 at which point all Liberal Democrat Ministers ceased to be Ministers.

Where a Conservative Minister continued to serve in the new Government, this is indicated in the end date column in the note:

  • Continued to hold the same office is indicated by ‘continued in post’
  • Continued in Government but in another Department, is shown by ‘continued in Govt’
  • Another role within the same government department is shown by ‘continued in Dept’

An end-date is given for all Ministers who left the Government where known.

Further information

The Commons briefing paper on limitations on the number of Ministers and the size of the payroll vote sets out the statutory limits that apply to ministerial appointments. Further information on Ministers is available on the Ministers’ topic page on the Parliament website which contains links to briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and Select Committee reports.


Members Names Information Service; DODS People; Hansard and Number 10 press notices and the Government List of Ministerial Responsibilities.

Parliament: facts and figures

This series of publications contains data on various subjects relating to Parliament and Government. Topics include legislation, MPs, select committees, debates, divisions and Parliamentary procedure.


Please send any comments or corrections to the Parliament & Constitution Centre. Suggestions for new lists welcomed.


Documents to download

Related posts