Combined authorities are a legal structure that may be set up by local authorities in England. They can be set up with or without a directly-elected mayor. 

This briefing paper is no longer being updated. Further details on combined authorities can be found in the Library briefing paper Devolution to local government in England

The legislation covering combined authorities is the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 and the Cities and Local Government Devolution Act 2016. Further provisions can also be found in the Levelling Up and Regeneration Bill 2022-23.


Related posts